5th Circ. Nixes $1.4M Penalty In Wal-Mart Optometrist Row - Law360 (subscription)

ODwire.org NewsBot

NewsBot
Staff member
Jul 30, 2007
School/Org
Newsbot U
City
Barre
State
VT
OK...I have zero experience in the whole WalMart thing.
But look...they "pressured" them into staying open longer. So, they "made" more money.
And now they want "more" money for being forced to "make more money".

A friend went to work at Lenscrafter many years ago.
They dictated his hours. He called the Texas Board.
What did the board tell him...

Its a free country and you chose where to work. If you don't like it ...go somewhere else. Don't expect us to tell Lenscrafters when to open or close.

Suing for staying open...now that takes the cake.

I could easily understand if they cut your hours and you made less money. But it is still your choice to accept or not to accept their terms. We have an oversupply of O.Ds..well, if there is an oversupply in other professions, they work whatever they have to. We on the other hand want someone else to protect us from working too hard. Give me a break.

Cutting hours and making less money is the same as forcing more hours on an office where there are no patients. They were probably forced to stay open in a dead location, where they could be elsewhere making more money.

Reactions: Tom Vaxmonsky OD
You swim with the sharks, you get bit.

I think they wanted the ODs to shack up with that teenager that created campsites in the aisles.

"Independent Contractor" is violated by almost all of those commercial chains.

Then don't work there!

Surely there is somewhere else that "some" of them can work.

If the pay is so awful, and the hours are so bad...what exactly is good.

I know! No responsibility and a steady stream of patients you didn't have to impress.

I don't think they are independent contractors..they aren't PAID by box stores.

Its a matter of choice. I realize that all cannot find jobs...yeah that's the word..jobs.