Tom Miller

Feb 21, 2001
School/Org
SCO
City
Fayetteville
State
NC
I know of a few OD/MD's, a Physician Assistant/OD, OD/MBA, OD/PHD, OD/MS, an MD/PhD/OD (in my OD school class) and even a couple of Veterinarians who went to medical school to become an OB/GYN and an internist.

Anybody know of any other unusual combinations or change in careers?

Hi Tom
I had a guy in a few years ago with the most bizarre carreer change. He gave up practising law to become a florist. I suspect a mid-life crisis of sorts. However, some days I think floristry (is there such a word...) seems quite an attractive proposition myself. Dang! I must be getting close to forty!

Hi Tom,

I am a third year student at Pacific University and we have a professor who is a real gunner. He has a Pharm D, O.D., and a PA-C degree! I think he takes continuing education to a new level!

Jim

Tom,

I was a physical therapist before I went to optometry school. There were six second-career students in my class. One guy in my class was a machinist. There was a lady who I think was a librarian. I don't remember what the others' previous careers were.

New Career for the Better

Tom,

I'm an OD/ME. The ME stands for Masters in Electrical Engineering. About halfway through my thesis I decided it wasn't worth the trouble so I chose a different route. Instead of MS it's ME.

I was an electrical engineer at IBM for five years before becoming an optometrist. There I helped develop the Power PC chip, among other things. I left engineering because I didn't particularly like the corporate world, the poor job security that engineers have to endure nowadays, and the stress that comes from the fast development cycle in the computer industry. Being yelled at everyday, worring about your job every few months, and bringing your work home every day is not my idea of fun.

Before IBM, I worked at a nuclear test facility in the Idaho desert where I put in cooling controls for a live reactor (I hope it hasn't blown up by now).